The Horse Whisperer


horsewhisperer

The Horse Whisperer by Nicholas Evans

I have just finished watching the film. After finishing the book I wanted to see it brought to life, but I am filled with regret. Why do I continue to sabotage my wonderful book experiences with the film adaptation?

I was so enthralled by the book, it was centred around my most favourite of animals and successfully captured the grace and intelligence of these magnificent creatures. The humans worked well too, with action, love  and more emotion than my watery eyes could bear.

It is the story of a young girl who was involved in a collision with a truck whilst she is out riding with her friend one early winter morning. Both her and her horse are left with physical and mental scars, needing the help of  a horse whisperer and his ranch to heal them both.

It is wonderfully written, and I finished it in no time at all, the fastest I have read a book in a long time.  Perhaps because I read it as a physical paperback.  The author is a apparently a film producer of sorts and this was his first written work. I think he clearly has a gift, I particularly enjoyed the way each chapter, although remaining in the third person, was from a different characters’ perspective.

The film though, save your pennies.

5 star

Leave a Reply

