BOOK SMART; THE UNEXPECTED HEALTH BENEFITS OF BEING AN AVID READER


BOOK SMART; THE UNEXPECTED HEALTH BENEFITS OF BEING AN AVID READER

A Stylist article

I loved seeing this article pop up on my facebook newsfeed, it literaly felt like my insides were shining with the confirmation that reading is good for one’s health!

Reading, it transpires, has a profound effect on mental agility, the memory and our aptitude for imagination and compassion…..It can also help to alleviate stress and aid sleep.

Personally, I read because I crave the feeling of submersion, the feeling of flying away and the ability to completely cut out the real world. I allow each word to engulf me, transforming each into a visual picture, a movie inside my head.

“By losing yourself in a thoroughly engrossing book you can escape from the worries and stresses of the everyday world and spend a while exploring the domain of the author’s imagination,” says cognitive neuropsychologist Dr David Lewis, leading the survey.

At the end of the article is a survey:

WHAT’S THE THING YOU ENJOY MOST ABOUT READING?

1. It helps me to unwind and relax

2. The potential for escapism

3. The fact that it challenges me

4. The ability to gain a new perspective

Answer the question and you can see the percentage of readers who voted for each answer. I obviously chose number 2, and in all honesty the results surprised me!

If you want to read the full article, click here.

Leave a Reply

