The Perks of Being a Wallflower


The perks of being a wallflower

BUY BOOK   BUY DVD

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Me: “I need a new book to read”

Him: “I’m reading the Perks of Being a Wallflower, it is really good”

Me: “How?”

Him: “Don’t know, just is, read it”

 Not the best sales pitch I have to admit, and no matter how hard I tried to squeeze out information, he simply couldn’t articulate why he liked this book so much, which is saying something as he is naturally verbose! I didn’t have any other ideas as to what to pursue next so I downloaded and began reading then also became addicted.

The book is written in the first person, a teenager writing to a friend at regular intervals. We never find out who the friend is nor why he writes but he uses the letters as a way of externalising his thoughts and feelings, something he struggles to do in daily life.

 What is fascinating about this book is that we are only privy to a segment of his life, and yet we learn so much about him and his life, embark on a journey together. Discovering things about him just as he discovers them himself, I am sure the friend he writes to is the reader and it made me feel almost special knowing that I understand him in a way his friends and family struggle to.

The letters finish when he realises and remembers everything, I won’t elaborate in case you want to read it, and I strongly suggest you do!

5 star

 

One thought on “The Perks of Being a Wallflower

  1. Pingback: My year in books: 2014 | My Books are Your Books

Leave a Reply

