The Red Queen


The Red Queen

The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory

This was a quick purchase at Heathrow airport on my way to climb Mount Kilimanjaro as I needed a book for my 12+ hours of travel and I didn’t fancy carrying my current read, Wolf Hall.

I saw Philippa Gregory and I knew I would be in safe water, little did I know that the water was so safe it was placid. This book seemed to have all the right components, a strong heroine, an exciting time period, war and love. But after trudging through the book I was more than disappointed, I was embarrassed for Philippa.  It is so poorly written, with constant repetition. Always repeating. Everything is repeated several times and Gregory gave me absolutely no credit, in fact I can only presume she assumed I and the rest of her readership are dim and incompetent.

I simply do not understand where this book came from, did she actually write it herself or commission it out to be written on her behalf.

Whatever, see the link below for a full review on the plot. But take my advice, avoid this one.

Bah…..

2 star

Leave a Reply

