Madame Bovary


madambovary6 madambovary5 madambovary4 madambovary3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

FREE BOOK

Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert

One of the few books with many faces…and TV/film adaptations too! It will be an internally popular book and I am sure I will continue to see new, televised Emma Bovarys.

I loved this book when I first read it at uni, within my French literature module.  We studied it in the context of the Bourgeoisie, however upon reading it again the symbols and themes are simply endless. I suppose the most obvious is the helplessness, fragility and powerlessness of women, I think there is also an element of irony to this as Emma Bovary’s unhappiness is in many instances self inflicted. Then again, she is taken advantage of and preyed upon to which she fails to fight……oh we can go round in circles!

A lovely book, one that I hope we all read one day. I recommend it, but have given it 4 stars as I think it lacks passion. I didn’t find myself thinking about this book all day, or run to pick it up and continue reading….this could be a translation issue as I first read it in the book’s native French.

4 star

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Madame Bovary

  1. Pingback: Inner Madame Bovary | jdimplied

  2. Pingback: “Madame Bovary” by Gustave Flaubert | Random Musings

  3. Pingback: Savage Reprisals: Bleak House, Madame Bovary, Buddenbrooks by Peter Gay | Pleasure of Reading

Leave a Reply

