What Papa Told Me


Whatpapatoldme

What Papa Told Me by Felice Cohen

After reading Anne Frank’s diary, and then the afterward I felt I needed to know more about the Holocaust. When I searched my kindle store for a non fiction book about the subject I was surprised by how few there were, but after reading What Papa Told Me I realise that it isn’t just the survivors that have difficulty in bringing their horrific memories to the forefront of their lives again but we, as mere readers struggle to come to terms with a reality we can’t ever comprehend.

I will be honest, there were several moments when I felt I could not go on, that perhaps this book was too much for my 21st century life, but I carried on because I felt I owed it to them, the survivors, to listen. Reading this book as a first hand account gives so much more than any history book can, this is a human being who lay among corpses in order to survive, who lost his parents, brothers and sisters, who witnessed cold blooded murders and yet still wanted to tell us about his experiences and to him we must be grateful.

I highly recommend this book, it isn’t very long but I believe that as children of the 20th century we owe it to the survivors because they suffered so we now don’t…..even writing this has bought more tears to my eyes.

I would also like to highlight Felice Cohen’s talent for writing and I have no doubt that this was difficult for her.

5 star

 

 

 

 

If you want to know more about Papa please visit. http://www.whatpapatoldme.com

Leave a Reply

