My Uncle Oswald


My Uncle Oswald by Roald Dahl

A few days ago myself and Hollie were talking books and how much we loved our childhood authors and stories such as Enid Blighton and her Famous 5. As my interest in Peter pan had degenerated I now fancied an alternative children’s fantasy. The kindle store unfortunately did not have any of Enid’s tales of the magic wishing chair (how can they not!!!?) and so I went on the hunt for something equally imaginative and stumbled upon mr Dahl’s first full length novel….for adults.

Perfect! Thankfully I was on my way up to Scotland that weekend and so read the book in a few hours on my journey. But I have to say now, I have never read a book so sexually perverse, so racist and so very politically INcorrect. I was shocked! The story had all the characteristics of a Roald Dahl story with made up words and excitement but now I just think of him as a pervert!

A good book with a very unusual storyline, I think I would recommend this book. His subsequent novels are also based on the main character too so I am assuming they are equally raunchy.

Leave a Reply

