1984


1984 by George Orwell

I have always been aware of George, and once as a teen I attempted Animal Farm, but being the political ignorant I am, simply could not get into it.  In hindsight, how was I supposed to even be aware of the Russian connotations etc at that age!? As my mum says, I am of the wrong generation for Animal Farm.

So I was chatting to a girlfriend the other day (Hollie) and she recommended that I give him another go, according to her “Just plough through and it ends up being quite good”.  On that note I returned to Animal Farm, read the synopsis and thought ‘I simply do not understand the blurb‘, how could I even consider pursuing the book?! I then researched 1984 and thought that political satire aside, this sounds like a love story…and I love a good romance.

Thankfully, I did not need to ‘plough through’, I was hooked after the first page.  I read this at every opportunity and often when I didn’t have the opportunity.  I not only recognised the allusions to an omnipresent government but I enjoyed them, I thought his creativity was fantastic, so great in fact that I noticed how many films/books/TV programs/businesses/characters have been influenced by this book……despite the political references this book is the seed to all modern creations; Harry Potter, Minority Report…to name just 2.

An enjoyable read, perhaps not for a casual reader but I would never suggest anyone bypass this piece of pure genius!

P.S I have put this review into my classics section…..I think it is, isn’t it?

One thought on “1984

  1. Pingback: Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood « My Books are Your Books

Leave a Reply

